Bruce Adolphe Receives Two 50th Anniversary Commissions

info [at] (subject: Inquiry%20from%20news%20page, body: I'm%20interested%20in%20more%20information%20about%20Bruce%20Adolphe%E2%80%99s%20%22Are%20there%20not%20a%20thousand%20forms%20of%20sorrow%3F%22.) (Bruce Adolphe’s Are there not a thousand forms of sorrow?  )for string quintet was commissioned to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. The World Premiere will take place on October 27 at Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center, New York. The composer also received a commission from another venerable chamber music institution, the Da Capo Chamber Players, to celebrate the ensemble’s 50th Anniversary in 2021. Full articles, new publications and performances in this Spring update.

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center is planning an ambitious season, even by its own standards, to celebrate its 50th Anniversary in 2019-20. The season’s theme, “Milestones,” aims to provide “the most expansive presentation of chamber music in its history.” Written for a string quintet of 2 violins, viola, and two cellos, the publication will be released following the premiere. Read the BroadwayWorld article

Adolphe’s Da Capo commission (title TBA) will be a musical portrait in tribute to the memory of Nicholas Maw, Milton Babbitt, David Golub, George Perle, and Laura Flax, all of whom share a connection with Bruce Adolphe and the Da Capo Chamber Players. See their list of commissioned works.

From June 17 to July 12, the Off the Hook Arts SummerFest, for which Bruce Adolphe is artistic director, will present “Perception/ Deception/ Illusion/ Confusion” bringing together music, neuroscience, psychology, magic, comedy, painting, and photography in a unique festival to explore the mysteries, methods, facts, and fantasies of human perception, and to uncover techniques of deception and illusion in the arts and in life. Watch Peter Hobbs’ in depth interview with Adolphe, titled Are you feeling emotion, or are you just showing it?


Additional commissions, premieres and highlights include:

  • info [at] (subject: inquiry%20from%20Bruce%20Adolphe%20news%20story, body: I'm%20interested%20in%20more%20information%20on%20the%20work%3A%0A%0AI%20too%20Bleed%2C%20and%20Hope%20for%20Beauty) (I too Bleed, and Hope for Beauty), inspired by the life of Alma Rosé, for chamber orchestra, commissioned by the River Oaks Chamber Orchestra. Premiering in Houston, Texas on November 15, 2019.
  • info [at] (subject: Inquiry%20from%20Bruce%20Adolphe%20news%20story, body: I'm%20interested%20in%20more%20information%20on%20the%20work%3A%0A%0ACoiled%20) (Coiled )for string quartet, based on Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 11, Op. 95 (Serioso), will be premiered the Brentano String Quartet (date TBA) as part of their series, “Beethoven Through-lines.” More on the series and program.
  • info [at] (subject: Inquiry%20from%20Bruce%20Adolphe%20news%20story, body: I'm%20interested%20in%20more%20information%20on%20the%20work%3A%0A%0AIn%20the%20Same%20Breath%20) (In the Same Breath )commissioned by the Dorian Wind Quintet, with 2020 premiere, date TBA.
  • Daniel Hope has commissioned two works from Bruce to be premiered in 2019: info [at] (subject: Inquiry%20from%20Bruce%20Adolphe%20news%20story, body: I'm%20interested%20in%20information%20on%20the%20work%3A%0A%0AThe%20Nightingale%20) (The Nightingale )for solo violin/narrator; and info [at] (subject: Inquiry%20from%20Bruce%20Adolphe%20news%20story, body: I'm%20interested%20in%20information%20on%20the%20work%3A%0A%0AThe%20King%2C%20the%20Cat%2C%20and%20the%20Fiddle) (The King, the Cat, and the Fiddle) for violin solo, violin, viola, cello, bass, piano and narrator. Dates TBA.
  • The Young People’s Chorus of New York has commissioned Bruce to inaugurate their new YPC National Works initiative. The new piece is called info [at] (subject: Inquiry%20from%20Bruce%20Adolphe%20news, body: I'm%20interested%20in%20information%20on%20the%20work%3A%0A%0ANo%20More%20Bad%20Dreams%2C%20or%20How%20the%20Dream%20Catcher%20Came%20to%20Be) (No More Bad Dreams, or How the Dream Catcher Came to Be).
  • NASA Goddard Space Flight Center presented Bruce’s info [at] (subject: Inquiry%20from%20Bruce%20Adolphe%20story, body: I'm%20interested%20in%20information%20on%20the%20work%3A%0A%0AI%20Saw%20How%20Fragile%20and%20Infinitely%20Precious%20the%20World%20Is) (I Saw How Fragile and Infinitely Precious the World Is) at a colloquium honoring the late astronaut and scientist Piers Sellers. Organized by NASA scientist Compton Tucker, the colloquium was held on March 29th, 2019. The work was performed by mezzo-soprano Kady Evanyshyn and cellist Sophie Shao, with sounds from space (courtesy of NASA).
    • Read about the inspiration behind the piece, Piers Sellers’ last message.
  • Santa Fe Symphony performed I Will Not Remain Silent: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra Inspired by the Life of Joachim Prinz on February 17, 2019, led by Conductor Guillermo Figueroa with Violinist David Felberg. Articles about the concert were published in the Santa Fe New Mexican and the Albuquerque Journal.
  • Secrets of Creativity, to be published by Oxford University Press, will include a chapter by Bruce Adolphe called “The Musical Imagination: Mystery and Method in Musical Composition.”


Performance calendar:


August 2019

17   Tyrannosaurus Sue: A Cretaceous Concerto

     Chamber Orchestra of the Springs - Thomas Wilson, Cond.


April 2019


4    Tyrannosaurus Sue: A Cretaceous Concerto

     Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra - Kark Hirzner, Cond.


March 2019


29    I Saw How Fragile and Infinitely Precious the World Is

     Mezzo-Soprano Kady Evanyshyn and Cellist Sophie Shao, with sounds from space, courtesy of NASA


February 2019


1    Oceanophony for Chamber Ensemble

     Off the Hook Arts

3    Tough Turkey in the Big City for Narrator and Six Players

     Calgary Pro Musica Society - Claude Lapalme, Cond.; Samantha Whelan Kotkas, Narrator

3    I Will Not Remain Silent: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra Inspired by the Life of

     Joachim Prinz

     The Symphonia, Boca Raton - Michael Stern, Cond.; Sharon Roffman, Soloist

17   I Will Not Remain Silent: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra Inspired by the Life of

     Joachim Prinz

     Santa Fe Symphony - Guillermo Figueroa, Cond.; David Felberg, Soloist


January 2019


13   The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses

     Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center - 2 Perfs; No conductor; Bruce Adolphe, Narrator


Recently published:

Berceuse (2018) 4'  Violin/Pno order here.


Obedient Choir of Emotions  (2012) 5'      Chor/Pno order here.


Oceanophony for Chamber Ensemble (2003) 35' Full Score order here.