Widows (Viudas), Op. 101

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X078089/ HL 123417

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
4 Soprano, 3 Mezzo-Soprano, Contralto, 4 Tenor, Baritone, Bass SATB Chorus, 3 speaking roles 2+Piccolo.2+English Horn.2+Bass Clarinet.2: Timpani.Percussion (4).Harp.Guitar: Strings
Libretto and Music by Juan Orrego-Salas. An opera in a prologue and three acts, based on the novel Widows by Ariel Dorfman. The story is set in a Latin American country controlled by a military dictatorship where most of the men from a village have disappeared.