Two Sonatas, Op. 120, Nos. 1 and 2 for Clarinet and Piano, Urtext Edition

Johannes Brahms
Catalog numbers: 

LKMP S131018/ HL 298301

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Clarinet, Piano
This edition of the Sonatas Op. 120 for Clarinet and Piano is unique in that it is the first and only one based on a thorough study of Brahms’ working manuscripts, which the composer generally destroyed. These, however, he gave to his great friend, the clarinetist Richard Mühlfeldt. They include both the piano scores plus the clarinet parts written for Mühlfeldt. They not only clear up problems of where Brahms placed dynamics and expression marks, they resolve questions of misprints which have remained to this day in every edition since Simrock first published them in 1895.