Two Solemn Pieces

Anton Bruckner
Catalog numbers: 

SMC S759EP/ HL 3778366

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
These two selections by two different composers are strikingly individual while having a number of features in common: they are of about equal length, are serious and eloquent in character, and were written during the final portion of their respective creative periods.  "Christus Factus Est" (Christ Became Man for Our Sake) was written by Anton Bruckner for unaccompanied chorus and exhibits many traits of the composer's mature style: chromaticall shifting harmonies, square-cut phrases often ending in moments of silence, and moods alternating between exaltation and serene contemplation.  "Andante Festivo" by Jean Sibelius was written originally for string quartet, then expanded for full string orchestra.  One of his last completed works, it took on partriotic significance after Russia invaded Finland in 1939.  This flexible arrangement for band by Richard Thurston have been scored so that they may be performed by the woodwind choir of the band alone, brass choir and timpani alone, or by the full band, leaving interpretive tastes to the conductor as well as being adaptable to the abilities of the instrumental forces available.