Symphony: The Oregon

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X077187/ HL 40968

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
3(1d Piccolo).2+English Horn.4(1d E-flat Clarinet, 1d Bass Clarinet).2+ContraBassoon: Timpani.Percussion(4).clst.Harp: Strings
A four movement work celebrating Oregon's past and present. Composed for the Oregon Centennial Commission and the Oregon Symphony in 1959, the work was reworked in 1999 for a Portland Youth Philharmonic Alumni concert commemorating Avshalomov's 80th birthday.  Movements: I. The Fog Serpent, II. The Mountain, III. The Rose, IV. The Glistening City