Symphony No. 4

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X076018/ HL 288097

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Organ, Soprano Solos: 4(3,4dPicc).4(4dEH).4(3dEb Cl, 4dBCl).4(4dCbsn): Timp.Perc(5).Pno.Hp: Str
Commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic for Gustavo Dudamel, Hartke's fourth symphony is a strikingly powerful and emotionally charged work. The solo organ part was written for and actually sketched out on the one-of-a-kind grand concert organ at Walt Disney Hall. Though it was origininally conceived as a twenty minute piece without vocals, Hartke serrepticiosly came across the gorgeous translation of Lorca's poem, "The Sleepwalking Ballad" by late Irish Poet Michael Hartnett and masterfully set the text into a climactic finale with solo Soprano as composer Gustav Mahler had famously done in his own fourth symphony.