Symphony No. 1, Mvt. 1

Sergei Prokofiev
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SO155FS/ HL 368154

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
String Orchestra
Otherwise known as the "Classical" symphony, Prokofiev utilized transparent textures and traditional form in this early masterpiece. The solo string quartet covers mostly woodwind and brass parts while the section strings play their original parts. There is an optional cut for those that don't wish to tackle the entire movement. An advanced ensemble will get valuable experience expanding range, expression and speed of bow and fingers!