Suite from Julius Caesar for String Orchestra and Piano (or Harpsichord)

George Frideric Handel
Catalog numbers: 

EBM MP059002/ HL 350788

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Piano or Harpsichord and String Orchestra
This arrangement from Julius Caesar, perhaps the most beautiful of Handel's operas, is the first edition and the publisher's tribute to Handel.  Adding two choral movements from Julius Caesar to the pieces chosen, the arranger has put them together into a suite.  The original score, which partly included instruments no longer common today, has been simplified for string orchestra and harpsichord (or piano).  Thus this festive and gratifying music will be accessible also to small amateur and school orchestras.  All notations such as gradations, phrasing, bowing, etc. are made by the editor, Heinz Freudenthal, and are intended to match the style of the 17th century.  A third violin part is included as an alternative to the viola.  Movements: 1. Overture, 2. Coro I, 3. Sinfonia I, 4. Coro II, 5. Sinfonia II, 6. March