String Quartet No. 1

Catalog numbers: 

EBM MP504006/ HL 359086

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
String Quartet
Robert Moevs (1920-2007) was a modernist composer and professor of composition at Rutgers University from 1964 to 1991. During his career, Moevs created a large body of orchestral, chamber, vocal, and instrumental music that earned him awards including a Rome Prize, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Stockhausen International Prize in Composition in 1978. Moevs composed at a time Kemper describes as “high modernism in academic art music in America—but there are also other influences in his music, like jazz, interesting rhythmic progressions, and intriguing things happening with timbre. Moevs' Strng Quartet No. 1 was composed in 1957. Duration ca. 25'