Sonata No. 5 in D Major

Michel Blavet
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SU266/ HL 3776136

Detailed Instrumentation: 
2 Flutes Unaccompanied
French Baroque composer Michel Blavet's (1700-1768) life is a rags-to-riches story, with the young commoner teaching himself to play flute, becoming a famous flautist, then taking a music post in the Parisian aristocracy, where he died with fame and wealth.  His sonatas, published as his Opus 2, first appeared in 1731 and contain six movements in the style of "character pieces", with some carrying the first or family names of his friends or patrons or a title word which would have given the performer an idea about the meaning or manner of performance.  This edition by Susanella Noble clarifies the ornamentation from the original into more modern symbols.  Movements: I. La Chauvet, II. Allego, III. Le Marc-Antoine, IV. Les Regrets, V. Fuga, VI. La Dedale