Sleep Gently, My Child from Intermezzo, Op. 117, No. 1

Johannes Brahms
Catalog numbers: 

SMC S808FS/ HL 3778570

Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
Among Brahms' last works is a set of three intermezzi, completed in 1892 and published as Op. 117.  The first is in Eb Major, the second in Bb minor, and the third in C# minor.  The first of these pieces, a tender folk-like lullaby, is the source for this band arrangement.  Brahms gave this piece the marking "andante moderato," and the piece was so popular that Scottish words "Sleep gently, my child. Sleep gently and fair" were adapted to the melody, inspiring the title used in this publication.