Sinfonie a Grande Orchestre: Allegro Molto

Casimir Anton Cartellieri
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SO150C/ HL 368113

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
String Orchestra
Originally composed for full orchestra, the movement opens with a powerful C minor introduction before turning to a bright, cheerful and graceful C major. Later in the work, the tonality turns to E-flat, and eventually returns to C minor. This intriguing music is characteristic of the Sturm und Drang movement, with its drastic changes in mood and dynamics, and would make a dramatic addition to any concert.