Second Symphony, Op. 44

Catalog numbers: 

SMC S574EP/ HL 3777641

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
Premiered by the University of Kansas Symphonic Band with Robert E. Foster conducting, this work was presented the 1982 Neil A. Kjos Memorial Award for the most significant contribution to wind band music. It consists of three movements: an "Elegia" in sonata form, "Variazioni Interrotte" (Interrupted Variations), and a "Finale" in classic sonata form concluding in a coda which ends the symphony in a final, dramatic, colorful outburst--the sort of pure musical energy that only a modern symphonic band can produce.  Movements: I. Elegia, II. Variazioni Interrotte, III. Finale