Ludwig van Beethoven
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SS64/ HL 3774286

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Mixed Clarinet Quartet
Scherzo  is the third movement of the first String Quartet, Opus 18, No. 1 by Ludwig van Beethoven.  It was composed in 1800 when Beethoven was 30 years old.  This movement lends itself very nicely to the clarinet quartet in range, technique, and style.  It is possible to achieve the same buoyant, gay mood of this movement with clarinets as with strings. This edition has included alternate third parts, originally viola, for Alto Clarinet or 3rd Bb Clarinet if an Alto is not available.