Scherzo, Op. 13

Alexander Znosko-Borovsky
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SU49/ HL 3776414

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Flute Trio
Alexander Znosko-Borovsky (1908-1983) was a Russian composer, trained in violin and composition at the Kiev Conservatory.  Several of his works were based on Turkmenian themes, as he moved in 1941 to Ashkhabad, Turkmenia in the face of Nazi invasion of Russia.  There he was instrumental in promoting indigenous music.  This "Scherzo" was originally written for trombone trio and has been transcribed for three flutes by Himie Voxman.