Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X205010/ HL 41561

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Brass Quintet
'Quicksilver' refers to the shifting, mercurial sense of pulse that occurs in much of the piece, and to the sometimes brilliant passagework. A concise, compact one-movement work, it has two principal sections. The first is slow and lyrical with a freely imitative mid section. The second, longer section is generally fast, and exhibits a variety of active passages. Premiered December 9, 1989 at the University of Louisville by members of the Louisville Orchestra with faculty of the School of Music.