Quartet in C Major, Op. 76, No. 3

Franz Joseph Haydn
Catalog numbers: 

LKMP S154001/ HL 40186

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
SATB Sax Quartet
Haydn's String Quartet, Op. 76 is considered to be one of the composer's most ambitious chamber works and is one of the most renowned of his string quartet collections.  No. 3 boasts the nickname "Emperor" because the second movemnt is a set of variations on "Gott erhalte Franz den Kaiser" ("God Save Emperor Francis").  This same melody is known to modern listeners for its use in the German national anthem.  This arrangement for SATB saxophone quartet has been transcribed by Robert Stanton.  Movements: I. Allegro, II. Poco Adagio; Cantabile, III. Menuette Allegro, IV. Finale Presto