Ormavi: String Quartet No. 4

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X504098/ HL 291246

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
String Quartet
Ormavi (String Quartet No. 4) was written for Carpe Diem String Quartet and was completed in December 2017. The work is a tribute to the great 13th century Persian music theorist and musician Safialdin Ormavi. The composition consists of eight short movements that are thematically inter related. I have used some of Ormavi’s 13th century medieval modes and have interpolated these modes with some of the modes of the modern Persian modal system, the Dastgâh system. Movements: I. Hisar 1, II. Osool, III. Hesar, IV. Zirafkand 1, V. Hisar 2, VI. Zirafkand 2, VII. Rooh, VIII. Hora