The Moldau

Bedrich Smetana
Catalog numbers: 

SMC S741CB/ HL 3778296

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
The second in a six cycle collection of symphonic poems titled "My Fatherland (Ma Vlast)", The Moldau (Vltava) is also the most popular.  This composition depicts the course of the river Vltava as it passes through the composer's native Bohemia.  Movements: I. The Two Sources of the Moldau, II. Hunt in the Forest, III. Peasant Wedding, IV. Moonlight; Dance of the Nymphs, V. St. John's Rapids, VI. The Moldau at its Greatest Breadth, VII. Vysehrad, Ancient Seat of the Kings of Bohemia