March to the Scaffold

Hector Berlioz
Catalog numbers: 

SMC S762FS/ HL 3778380

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
The best known work by Berlioz, "Symphonie Fantastique" for orchestra is a well-regarded example of programatic music.  This transcription for band of the 4th movement, "March To The Scaffold", depicts the following scene of a young, dreaming musician: "He dreams that he has killed his beloved, that he is condemned to death and led to the scaffold. The procession moves forward to the sounds of a march that is now somber and fierce, now brilliant and solemn, in which the muffled sound of heavy steps gives way without transition to the noisiest clamor. At the end, the idee fixe returns for a moment, like a last thought of love interrupted by the fatal blow."  This transcription by Mark Rogers carefully adapts the orchestral version in such a way as to best match the intent of the original, and is meant to set the standard by which all other scores of this sort may be measured.  Three of the movements of "Symphonie Fantastique" have been transcribed for band and are available from he publisher: Movement II- "Un Bal", Movement IV- "March To The Scaffold", and Movement V- "Dream of a Witches Sabbath".