Lyrical Concerto (baritone saxophone)

Catalog numbers: 

SMC SU525/ HL 3776447

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Baritone Saxophone, Piano
Proctor composed Lyrical Concerto for serpent enthusiast Craig Kridel. The work was later champoined by bass trombonist Douglas Yeo who ultimately performed it with the Boston Pops Orchestra conducted by John Williams. In three connected movements, the concerto explores in a clever and unpretentious way the full range of the performer's capabilities, and includes an optional part for medeival cupped bells inspired by Craig Kridel's performance. Although specifically composed for serpent, this cheerful and melodious music is also well-suited and has been transcribed for bassoon, baritone sax, bass clarinet, trombone/euphonium, and tuba.