King Mangoberry: Five Allegories for Symphonic Wind Ensemble

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X077608/ HL 304046

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
3(dbl Picc).3(dbl EH).3(dbl EbCl)(+BsCl).2(+CtrBsn): 1SSax.1ASax.1TSax.1BSax: 4.3.2(+BsTbn).2Euph.1Tuba: Harp.Pno.Timp.3-5 Perc
The first movement (King Mangoberry's Triumphant Entrance) was commissioned and written as a stand-alone work in 1993. This larger work revises the orignal piece to better suit the addition of four new movements. Movements: I. King Mangoberry's Triumphant Entrance, II. Princess Cherrygus Reveals Her Dream, III. Sir Lempple Contemplates His Reflection in the Mirror, IV. Court Jester Rumffee's Juggling Fixation, V. Wizard Walconut's Unwelcome Spell and Exit of King Mangoberry's Entourage. Commissioned by The University of South Carolina Symphonic Winds, Cormac Cannon, conductor.