Inventing Flight: A Suite of Thumbnail Portraits

Catalog numbers: 

EBM MR00484/ HL 358951

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
Originally written for orchestra, this transcription by Jason H. Nam depicts in three movements stories of first flights, both in myth and history.  Movements: I. Daedalus and Icarus  II. Leonardo  III. Wilbur and Orville.  One interesting feature is a solo euphonium in the first movement, which may optionally be performed by a solo cello, as in the original.  Versions for orchestra (original) and band (transcription) are available from the publisher.