Gaea: Double Concerto for Left Hand Piano

Catalog numbers: 

EBM EBM0610676/ HL 45182

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Piano soli, orchestra (varies) Set A: 3(Pi)3(EH)3(Eb/BsCl)2Cbn 4331 Timp Pc Cel Str - Set B: 03(EH)02 4000 Pc Str (no Violas) - Set C: 3(Pi)03(EbCl/BsCl)Cbn 0331 Timp Pc Cel Violas
This unique concerto can be performed in three different ways.  Concerto I and Concerto II each have unique musical elements performed by a single piano and accompanied by chamber orchestras of entirely different instrumentation.  However, both concertos can be combined, both the soloists and the orhcestras can be combined to create a double concerto with full orchestra.  Movements: 1. The Sea, 2. The Earth, 3. Fuga Terrena II. Premieres: Leon Fleisher and Gary Graffman, Pianists, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, David Zinman conducting, April 11, 1996; Leon Fleisher and Gary Graffman, Pianists, Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra, Leonard Slatkin conducting, May 3, 1996; Leon Fleisher and Gary Graffman, pianists, Pacific Symphony Orchestra, Carl St. Clair conducting, November 6, 1996