Catalog numbers: 

LKMP R01017/ HL 43770

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Violin Solo: String Orchestra ( or
Funebre, the third movement from Four Movements for String Quartet and String Orchestra, was written in memory of the composer's father and was inspired by Act 3 of Wagner's opera Tristan und Isolde (Tristan's lament, "Die alte Weise," Act 3, Scene 1). The Persian melodies in the solo violins, which symbolize wailing over the death of the beloved, are superimposed on Tristan harmonies throughout the movement. Persian and Western metaphors of love and death are intermingled in a pluralistic musical symbolism. --Riccardo Schultz