Fourth Symphony: Yellowstone Portraits

Catalog numbers: 

SMC S781FS/ HL 3778460

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
Commissioned by the Kansas City Youth Symphony, this work was intended to serve as a major contribution to the celebration of the orchestra's 40th anniversary. The wind band version of the symphony was completed in 2001. As the title suggests, the programatic work is a musical landscape portraying the majestic beauty of Yellowstone Park. It is set in three movements depicting natural scenes: 1. Dawn on the Yellowstone River, 2. Pronghorn Scherzo and 3. Inspiration Point.