Et Occidentem Illustra

Catalog numbers: 

EBM MP079013/ HL 355072

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
SATB Chorus: Timp.Perc(6): Hp.Pno: Str
Written in honor of the 200th anniversary of Rutgers State University. The first four performances of this work were given by the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Rutgers University Choir between February 24 and March 4, 1967, at Boston, Massachusetts, New Brunswick, New Jersey, and at Carnegie Hall, New York City. The conductor was Erich Leinsdorf. Text from "The Commission of Theodore Frelinghuysen, New York, May 30, 1755, Paragraph 1" and from Dante,"La Divina Commedia" I, 26: 112-120.  Movements: I. Prooemium, II. Et Occidentum Illustra