Elegy for Clarinet and Orchestra (solo/ piano reduction)

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP S131014/ HL 144421

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Clarinet, Piano
Lukas Foss was asked by Artie Shaw for a new work to which Foss responded with his Elegy for clarinet and orchestra in 1949. As a world premiere with Shaw unfortunately never materialized, Foss later gave the manuscript to Richard Stoltzman just before his death 60 years later.  Though the two concertized together for many years, a performance of the Elegy would not yet come to pass.  Finally, Stoltzman edited this beautiful work and presented the world premiere transcription for clarinet and piano in 2014, unveiling this previously unknown Foss gem to audiences and clarinetists for the first time. Full orchestra materials are also available on rental from the publisher.