Eastern Intermezzo: Youthful Suite Mvt. 4

Percy Aldridge Grainger
Catalog numbers: 

SMC S927/ HL 3779037

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
The fourth movement of Grainger's "Youthful Suite," this piece was inspired by an early interest on the part of the composer for Oriental music. "Stomping rhythms" featured in the work were inspired by the description of the elephant's dance from Rudyard Kipling's "The Jungle Book." This transcription for band from the original orchestra work was the first of its kind, meticulously arranged with Grainger's idiomatic wind band scoring in mind.  Movements 1, 2, 4, and 5 are available from the publisher.