Dream Etudes, Book III

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X240006/ HL 41618

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Tuba Solo
Dream Etudes, Book III (2002) for tuba was commissioned for and is dedicated to Mark Nelson, and was inspired by his playing of and support for the contemporary tuba repertoire. It is a set of three brief pieces for tuba. Like the first two books of Dream Etudes (Book I for solo clarinet, 1999; Book II for solo piano, 2001), each movement has an “action title” which inspired its musical content and procedures. The overall title of the work refers to the overlapping and juxtapositions of elements of the basic materials (which run throughout all three movements), as if remembered through a dream.