Concerto Serenade

Catalog numbers: 

EBM MP075008/ HL 359057

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Violin Solo and Small String Orchestra (43321)
Composed during the summer of 1964 at the Aspen Music Festival, performed by students under the direction of Leonard Slatkin. The composer writes: "The first movement has much the feel of a Mozart string divertimento. The "distant relative" of the second movement was Richard Wagner, and there are hidden quotations of his work throughout. The short scherzo movement, which leads to a solo lament, eventually lands upon a lighthearted rondo, unashamedly in G major, a compositional ploy that drew criticism in its time.