Concerto No. 1 in f Minor for Clarinet

Carl Maria von Weber
Catalog numbers: 

SMC RMR15FS/ HL 3772146

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Concert Band
Carl Maria Von Weber is well known for oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and horn works.  He was commissioned to write two clarinet pieces by King Max Joseph after Heinrich Barmann, clarinetist of the Royal Orchestra of Germany, premiered Weber's Concertino, Op. 26.  This concerto is written in the purest Romantic vein of the Arthur Freischutz.  The 3/4 meter of the allegro is uncommon, the middle section is straight-forward, and the final rondo is characterized by vivacity, elegance, and spirit, and permits the soloist to display freely all the resources of his/her virtuosity.