Concerto in E Flat

Vincenzo Bellini
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SS934/ HL 3774621

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Oboe, Piano
The only surviving concerto by Vincenzo Bellini (1801-1835), a composer best known for his operas, this piece serves as an important example of his limited instrumental output.  Originally written for orchestra in the "all'italiana" style, it is one continuous movement in three sections: I. Risoluto allegro, II. Larghetto cantabile, and III. Allegro polonese.  And, given Bellini's attachment to the opera form, it is not surprising that the oboe solo is written with operatic qualities and uses bel canto themes resembling the attention given to a solo voice.  This piano reduction by Harry Peters offers intermediate players a work that showcase both their technical and lyrical abillities.