Concerto in c Minor (Attributed to Benedetto Marcello)

Alessandro Marcello
Catalog numbers: 

SMC SU319/ HL 3776212

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Soprano Sax, Piano
Alessendro Marcello (1673 - 1747) was a contemporary of Antonio Vivaldi and Tomaso Albinoni.  The "Concerto for Oboe and Strings in D minor, Op. 1" is his best known work, a status affirmed by J.S. Bach's transcription for harpsichord.  This C minor transposition is based on a 1717 manuscript, and suggests that C minor might have been the originally intended key.  This version is often misattributed to Alessandro's brother Benedetto, another composer of the era.