Concertino for Three (Flute, Oboe and Bassoon)

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X103004/ HL 41380

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Flute, Oboe, Bassoon
Commissioned by and dedicated to flutist Sally Turner, Concertino is in four distinct sections which are played through without break. Introduction states the musical material in a number of different forms. Elegy uses transformations of the main material and combines the three voices using part-writing techniques derived heavily from early American music, especially The Southern Harmony hymnal. Following is the unabashedly silly Scherzo. The concluding section, Autumnal Voices, is wistful, recalling elements of all the preceding music.