Chopin Dreams

Catalog numbers: 

LKMP X410108/ HL 155482

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Piano Solo
Chopin Dreams is a set of six pieces inspired by the music of Chopin. The work was commissioned by The Concert Artists' Promotion Trust, composed for and dedicated to the pianist Carlo Grante. In describing the work, the composer writes: "To compose this work, I imagined Chopin alive today, living in New York, perhaps making some money at a jazz club rather than teaching so many students." Rorianne Schrade of the New York Concert Review wrote, "the work is brimming with all the poetry and virtuosity one would hope for in a work inspired by the great Frédéric Chopin, but its tonal language is deliciously modern."