Bass Trombone Concerto (Orchestra Version)

Catalog numbers: 

EBM MR00454/ HL 365427

Duration (minutes): 
Detailed Instrumentation: 
Solo BsTbn: 2(+Picc).2(+EH).2(+BCl).2(+CBsn): Timp.Perc(4): Harp.Clsta: Str
Kenneth Fuch's Bass Trombone Concerto places the soloist in the role of a musical protagonist, leading the players of the ensemble in a vibrant affirmation of lyrical melody, instrumental color, and orchestral texture. The work emerges from a serene atmosphere with the bass trombonist weaving fragments of melody from which the entire concerto evolves. The work takes the form of a through-composed extended single movement in four sections (Adagietto - Allegro - Allegro poco agitato - Allegro con brio) based upon the simple triadic intervals of the opening melodic fragments.  Versions for orchestra and band are available from the publisher, as well as a piano reduction.